Tribute recipes: Toffee Chocolate Cupcakes

A bit pressed for time lately, so I’ll be posting some of my failsafe options – the ones I do without having to think too hard. They include some of the recipes I’ve picked up from fellow bloggers.

Today’s recipe comes from my lovely cousin Ann – something she concocted in someone else’s kitchen while on holidays. I’ve ended up making this more often than she has – probably something to do with my children’s preference for chocolate, and not much else.

I’ve often done this for class parties, since you can balance them neatly on a paper napkin, thus eliminating any need for plates and spoons – or indeed, for cutting up of portions.

For my daughter’s 9th, I ran out of time to make the planned frosting. But they are so scrumptiously chocolatey, no one complained. Check out the facial expression:

Ingredients:

  • 100 g milk chocolate – I often use a Ritter bar
  • 125g salted butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 capfuls vanilla essence
  • ½ cup castor sugar
  • ¾ cup self-raising flour

Method:

Melt butter and chocolate together in a saucepan over low heat.

Once melted, remove from heat and stir in sugar – the mixture will look grainy.

Beat in the 2 eggs one after the other – this helps smoothen out the mixture.

Beat in the vanilla.

Fold in the flour.

Pour into a small square tin or cupcakes cases. Don’t be alarmed by the sticky, gooey quality of the mix. All will be well.

Bake in a moderate oven until done.

Note: The batter will rise while baking and drop once out of the oven. The finished product will be crusty on top with a moist and chewy interior. Expect no leftovers.

You can see more of Ann’s recipes on her Fabulous Sugar blog.

Leave a Reply

